Small And Medium Architectural Practice (SMAP) Committee


The Small And Medium Architectural Practice Committee was set up with the objective to provide a dignified and sustainable platform for Small and Medium Architectural Practice. 

Small and Medium Architectural Practices generally mean firms comprising 1 to 20 personnel.

In the fast changing world, the diverse and nimble nature of SMAP are crucial to the future-readiness of our profession.

The objectives and tasks carried out by the Committee as follows:

  • Practice – to provide SMAP with practice needs / tools to enable good and efficient practice, e.g. publication of contracts that can be administered using lean resources (i.e. the SIA Minor Works Contract 2012 and SIA Sub-Contract for use in conjunction with the Minor Works Contract); development of the Practice Management Framework (PMF), and the development of the PMF course to train practitioners to develop their own office management systems to lift the standard of practice.
  • Peer support – to provide an avenue for SMAP to seek peer support and advice on practice matters through the SMAP Practice Clinic.
  • Public Education – to address the problem of illegal practitioners providing architectural services by educating the public on the importance of engaging an Architect, and to provide an avenue for the public to seek the advice of an Architect.
  • Identify project opportunities for SMAP to participate and improve design and technical competency.

Co-Chairpersons:       Catherine Loke
                                      Ho Sock Yee
Advisor:                       David Chung
                                     Chan Seng Kee
Member:                      Ang Kian Nam
                                     Casey Chua
                                     Chan Yat Weng
                                     Chia Yong Kwang
                                     Lim Choon Keang
                                     Loo King Keong
                                     Ong Eng Liang
                                     Samuel Lee
                                     Steven Siow
                                     Jack Tan
                                     Teh Joo Heng
                                     Thomas Ho
                                     Thomas Lew
                                     Wu Huei Siang
                                     Yann Follain