President*s Design Award Singapore 2018

The President’s Design Award, conferred by President Halimah Yacob at the Istana on Tuesday (July 17), is jointly handed out by the Urban Redevelopment Authority and DesignSingapore Council.

This year, it recognised nine Designs of the Year and two Designers of the Year – Mr Hans Tan, founder of Hans Tan Studio, and DP Architects’ chief executive Angelene Chan.

Four of this year’s winning designs are architectural projects: Mediacorp Campus by Maki & Associates and DP Architects; Oasia Hotel Downtown by WOHA Architects; China Fuzhou Jin Niu Shan Trans-urban Connector (Fudao) by LOOK Architects; and The Tembusu condominium by ARC Studio Architecture + Urbanism.

The others are Changi Airport Terminal 4 by Changi Airport Group; The Future of Us Pavilion by the Singapore University of Technology and Design; The Warehouse Hotel by Asylum Creative; insulated shelter weatherHYDE by billionBricks; and the Who Cares? Transforming the Caregiving Experience in Singapore project by design consultancy fuelfor and the National Council of Social Service.

The P*DA 2018 Exhibition will be on the road from July 2018 to June 2019!

Wednesday, 18 July, 2018 – Sunday, 30 June, 2019
12:00 AM
Free Admission

The P*DA 2018 Exhibition will be on the road from July 2018 to June 2019!

Featuring the 11 recipients from P*DA 2018, this multimedia exhibition reveals the thinking, planning, processes and outcomes of this year’s winning works through video interviews, stories and photo montages. For a limited time, the recipients’ working models, prototypes and special exhibits will also be on display.

The first stop is at the Atrium of the URA Centre, home to Singapore’s land use planning and conservation authority. Together with DesignSingapore Council URA is also the co-presenter of the P*DA. The multi-media exhibition will be here from 18 July to 30 August, after which it travels to another 10 destinations throughout Singapore.

All admission is free.

Venue Dates Opening hours
The URA Centre, Atrium
45 Maxwell Road, S069118
18 July  30 August 2018 Monday – Saturday
9.00am – 5.00pm
National Design Centre
111 Middle Rd, S188969
1 September – 30 September 2018 Monday – Saturday
9.00am – 5.00pm
The URA Centre, Atrium
45 Maxwell Road, S069118
30 August – 15 October 2018 Monday – Saturday
9.00am – 5.00pm
 Temasek Polytechnic
21 Tampiness Avenue 1, S529757
15 October – 5 November 2018 Monday – Friday
9.00am – 5.00pm
Singapore University of Technology and Design
8 Somapah Road, S487372
5 November – 10 December 2018 Monday – Friday
9.00am – 5.00pm

The President*s Design Award (P*DA) is Singapore’s highest honour for designers and designs across all disciplines. It recognises the achievements of an extraordinary group of people making a difference to the lives of Singaporeans and the global community through excellent design.

Established in 2006, P*DA was founded with the following objectives:
1. Recognise the significant achievements of Singapore’s design talents and the contributions they have made to Singapore’s economic competitiveness and quality of life.
2. Engender pride in the nation’s outstanding designs and leading designers among Singaporeans and in turn nurture among Singaporeans a greater awareness of quality design in all areas.
3. Demonstrate to industry, businesses, the general public and the international community the government’s commitment to design development and promotion.

In 2017, P*DA was re-launched as a biennial award with a greater emphasis on the impact of design in enabling economic transformation; raising the quality of life; advancing Singapore brand, culture and connecting communities; and making ground-breaking achievements in the field of design.

P*DA is presented in two categories – Designer of the Year and Design of the Year. It is conferred by the President of the Republic of Singapore and is jointly administered by the DesignSingapore Council (Dsg) and the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).