International Architectural Design Competition Knowledge and Innovation Center in Tripoli, Lebanon

The UIA is endorsing the International Architectural Design Competition for the Knowledge and Innovation Center in Tripoli, Lebanon. The competition is managed by the Lebanese Federation of Engineers and Architects on behalf of the Tripoli Special Economic Zone and the Government of the Republic of Lebanon.The proposed construction site is located within the Rachid Karami International Fair, designed by renowned Brazilian architect Oscar Niemeyer in the 1960s. The Knowledge and Innovation Centre will be a business and technology park that accommodates and fosters the growth of entrepreneurs, start-ups and SMEs in the city of Tripoli and the surrounding region.Its goal is to become an inclusive collaborative platform attracting companies from a wide variety of sectors.Competition participants will be required to provide an urban and architectural concept for the Knowledge and Innovation Center that preserves and integrates the existing modern heritage buildings.
The prizes will be awarded as follows:
1st Prize: 60,000 USD
2nd Prize: 30,000 USD
3rd Prize: 15,000 USD

Additionally, honourable mentions could be conferred on works of exceptional merit in a specific area of innovation or creativity. 
1. Raya Al Hassan, Minister of Interior, Former Chairperson TSEZ, LebanonJad Tabet, Head, Lebanese Federation of Engineers and Architects, Beirut, Lebanon
2. Bassam Ziadeh, Head, Order of Engineers and Architect, Tripoli, Lebanon
3. George Kunihiro, Architect, T-Life Environmental Lab, Past President ARCASIA, Japan (UIA representative)
4. Antonio Raffaele Riverso, Former UIA Region I Vice President, Italy (UMAR Representative)
5. Francesco Bandarin, Former Director of World Heritage Centre and Former Assistant Director General for Culture at UNESCO, Italy
6. Ana Tostoes, Chair, Docomomo International, Portugal
7. Fares Dahdah, Director of the Humanities Research Center at Rice University, member of Fundação Oscar Niemeyer Board, USA
8. Suha Ozkan, Former Secretary General of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, Turkey

Alternate jurors
Amale Andraos, Dean, Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, USA, and advisor to the Chairperson
Gustavo Utrabo, Architect, Aleph Zero, Brazil
18 February 2019: Competition Launch
18 March 2019: Registration Deadline
15 April 2019: Deadline for Questions
18 April 2019: Deadline for Answers
17 June 2019: Final Submission Deadline
27-28 June 2019: Jury Deliberation
28 June 2019: Announcement of Winners
5 July 2019: Awards Ceremony
5 – 7 July 2019: Exhibition
For more information, visit the competition website