Design Competitions


Architecture Design Competition has been promoted by the Institute as early as the 1960s. Over the years, many notable buildings have been built through the design competition process

Our Service

  • Appoint a member architect to prepare a proper detailed Design Brief. The appointed architect will prepare the brief in close consultation with relevant personnel from the promoter
  • Prepare the terms and conditions to be packaged together with the design brief for the competition
  • Recommend and select jury panel
  • Organise the competition, which will include promoting to all our members and to all registered architects in Singapore. This is done through circulars, SIA Newsletter and SIA website
  • Provide all necessary administrative support in organizing the design competition.

Click the following to learn more on the SIA Design Competition Rules

  • Past Design Competitions organised by SIA since the 1990s
    • 1997: Maybank Headquarter Redevelopment
    • 1997: The Board of Commissioners Currency of Singapore Headquarters
    • 1999: Marina Line Stadium and Museum Stations
    • 2000: SMU
    • 2005: The NUSS Alumni Complex
    • 2007: scape* Youth Complex
    • 2008: Tampines Town Council – Neighbourhood Renewal Programme
    • 2010: A&A for the Al-Ansar Mosque
    • 2011: Indian Heritage Centre (IHC)
    • 2011: Punggol Mosque (Al Islah Mosque)
    • 2012: OUE Artling ArchiPavilion
    • 2012: Bukit Panjang Hawker Centre (BPHC)
    • 2013: Wisma Geylang Serai (WGS)
    • 2016: St John’s Home For Elderly Persons
    • 2017: Archi-Skin Design Competition
    • 2019: Founders’ Memorial International Architectural Design Competition
    • 2019: Children’s Aid Society (CAS) Melrose Village Design Competition
    • 2020: Char Yong Foundation HQ Design Competition
    • 2021: Geylang Serai Cultural Precinct Design Competition